Croke Park II SIPTU national officers to take pay cuts

first_imgWe had intended to declare our intention to take a further pay reduction on the basis that everyone on higher rates of pay should be contributing more through taxation but decided to await the outcome of the public service talks.They said they will be taking the pay reduction as per the proposals in the document prepared by the Labour Relations Commission.Once again, we reiterate our view that the proper way to secure a contribution from everyone on higher incomes should be through progressive taxation and should not be just imposed on people working in the public service.Remuneration in SIPTU has not been related to public service rates for more than 20 years.Yesterday, Government and unions reached an deal on extending the Croke Park pay deal, following 13 hours of talks during which four unions walked.Read: Croke Park: Proposals need to be evaluated carefully, says SIPTU>Read: Government, public service unions reach deal on extending Croke Park> SIPTU NATIONAL OFFICERS will take pay cuts in line with the latest Croke Park agreement discussions.In a statement today, the union said that its national officers will be taking a further pay reduction in line with the proposals which have emerged from discussions on the Croke Park (Public Service) Agreement.SIPTU General President, Jack O’Connor, Vice-President, Patricia King, and General Secretary, Joe O’Flynn said in a statement today:It is our view that people on higher incomes should have made a contribution through taxation in Budget 2013. We have specifically argued for a levy on those earning in excess of €100,000 per annum.last_img read more

Tipperary too strong for lethargic Dubs in Thurles to set up semifinal

first_imgTipperary 2-23Dublin 0-16THE LAST TIME, Dublin beat Tipperary in a championship clash was during World War I.And that 90-odd year wait goes on for hurling officiandos in the capital this evening.Anthony Daly’s side never really got going in a game that didn’t ever come alive, losing out on a scoreline of 2-23 to 0-16 in Thurles this afternoon.Tipp v Dublin talking points: Dalo’s future and Premier ambitions5 talking points after Limerick’s win over WexfordDaly will now face questions about his future with the Dubs after an admirable six-year run with the Leinster side. Even if the Clare native does decide to give it one more season, he will surely look to blood more youth into his well-travelled panel.For Tipperary, the summer stretches into August once again. Eamon O’Shea will now prepare his outfit for the first-ever championship meeting in Croke Park of Cork and the Premier on 17 August.The teams went in at half-time with Tipperary 0-15 t0 0-7 up and the hosts were well in control despite the Dubs’ efforts to stay in touch. Source: James Crombie/INPHOAfter the break, Paul Ryan saw a penalty saved when Dublin badly needed a goal. A green flag would’ve brought them within four but Conal Keaney followed up to point.Then, just like that, John O’Dwyer hit two goals for Tipp — the second a killer blow. Dublin’s Alan Nolan produced a stunning save to deny Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher but O’Dwyer tucked it away ultimately.And despite work by Keaney and others the Leinster side couldn’t claw their way into it from there.  Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 0-12 (0-9f, 0-1 ’65), John O’Dwyer 2-1, Gearoid Ryan 0-3, Lar Corbett 0-2, Shane Bourke, James Woodlock, Shane McGrath, Noel McGrath 0-1 each.Scorers for Dublin: Alan McCrabbe 0-5 (0-5f), Conal Keaney, Paul Ryan (0-1f, 0-1 ’65) 0-2 each, Eamon Dillon, Liam Rushe (0-1f), Ryan O’Dwyer, Johnny McCaffrey, Danny Sutcliffe, David Treacy, David O’Callaghan 0-1 each. DUBLIN1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)18. Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes)3. Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields)2. Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)5. Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)6. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s)7. Michael Carton (O’Toole’s)9. John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)11. Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiarain)14. Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)10. Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes)12. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)26. David Treacy (Cuala)20. Conor McCormack (Ballyboden St Enda’s)15. Colm Cronin (Cuala)Subs13. David O’Callaghan (St Mark’s) for McCormack (25)24. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Cronin (ht)21. Mark Schutte (Cuala) for Sutcliffe (inj) (41)8. Joey Boland (Na Fianna) for McCrabbe (46)19. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionbarra) for Treacy (55)Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)Limerick hopeful captain O’Grady will recover from injury for All-Ireland semi-finalGalway minors outclass Antrim to set up Limerick semicenter_img Source: Donall Farmer/INPHOTIPPERARY1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)7. Cathal Barrett (HolycrossBallycahill)8. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)3. Paudie Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)9. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)23. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)10. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry)11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)12. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)14. Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch)15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)Subs21. Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) for Noel McGrath (60)19. Jason Forde (Silvermines) for Gearoid Ryan (60)20. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) for Corbett (62)17. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for Patrick Maher (68)26. Thomas Stapleton (Templederry) for Woodlock (70)last_img read more